Phenomenal Timing

You know how earlier today I posted about passing down a white belt in a Karate class?

Years and years ago my sensei taught me something called “Reeling Silk,” an exercise for encouraging different parts of the body to move together. I think I learned it when I was in high school, which means about 15 years ago. I’ve been practicing it ever since. Not every day, but a little bit every month or so, as a warmup. When you have a lot of different techniques and forms under your belt (ha ha) and a job that takes up a lot of time, it’s hard to practice everything you have on a regular basis. Reeling Silk was something that stuck with me. It’s fairly calming and meditative, and it’s something that is best done with a certain amount of mindfulness, so it appealed to me.

These days I study Tai Chi (Yang Style, if you’re interested). I’m a relative beginner in that art; I’m only partway through the second portion of the long form.

Today we got to the part in that form that is, with some added foot placement, Reeling Silk.

Fifteen years pays off in a single day.

You never know.

Thank you, sensei.

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

