Support your local principal

I ran across this article today, which led me to this one about principals in New York state banding together against standardized testing. Well worth reading.

I’m an educational researcher – I know the value of a good diagnostic exam. Things like the Force Concept Inventory are invaluable to researchers. I also know that state education tests, SATs, ACTs, and so forth are not diagnostic, neither in their design nor in the use of their data. I very much support principals who are trying to get their schools out from the straightjacket of state tests. I’ll write a whole big thing about this some day, but the short version is this:

Support your local principal.

Write letters to your representative.

Write letters to the school.

Send e-mails to your school board.

Make it a big deal.

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

