A Tough Call, Made

This post follows up on an earlier one.

In short, I made the call: I’m not going to be working toward creating a school this year. The plan has been put on the shelf; the dream, deferred.

It’s strange to sit here on MLK Day and write about how not following up on a dream is the right thing to do, especially a dream about education and helping others and making an impact. However, I still know it’s not the right time. I don’t have the resources I would want or the support I would need. In addition, there are still things that my wife and I want to do in our lives that would preclude starting this next year.

It makes me sad to leave this for another year (or three, or ten), even when I know that walking away is the right thing to do. It makes me feel like I’m not putting my time and money where my mouth is, and it makes me wonder whether I’ll ever get up the courage to do it. Regardless, I still know that the conditions are not right, and so it stays on the shelf. Even Dr. King didn’t try to march on Washington right away.

As for what I will be doing, I’m not sure yet. I’m employed through the end of September, and at that point I’ll be moving to the UConn area to spend more time with my wife. Hopefully I’ll find a job to take over at that point. If not, I’ll be looking at some local non-profits and independent schools, and doing some volunteering. I might also spend some more time writing; as many of you know I’m also an amateur game designer. I’m not sure exactly what the plan will be yet, but at least it’s narrowed down.

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

