More on Open-Internet Tests

The other day I posted about wanting to design a course with open-internet tests (like open-book tests). Naturally, I found out that I’m not the first person to come up with this:

http://21k12blog.net/2011/12/19/open-computer-testing-at-st-gregory-chemistry-class-with-scott-morris-including-an-annotated-sample-exam/

The notes down near the bottom about the Danish language exam are particularly interesting – seeing this happen at a country-wide level is very encouraging.

Here’s another one, from someone who has taken this approach and is reevaluating their choice (not necessarily negatively):

http://chemicalsams.blogspot.com/2011/12/open-internet-tests.html

There’s some good analysis in that post about how students approach such exams, which I think is more broadly applicable.

Finally (just because I don’t want to give more than three links in a post), here’s one more, from a less technical field:

http://21k12blog.net/2012/02/07/more-on-open-computer-testing-at-st-gregs-theater-history-class-guest-post-by-lisa-bodden/

This is where I think things have a real potential to take off. A good history class should be all about analyzing history rather than regurgitating it; so I am told by every history teacher and major I’ve ever met. Access to the internet should allow students to find quotes and dates to augment their arguments. If they cut-and-paste, it’ll be brutally obvious. The student responses are also worth reading.

If I ever end up in a teaching position again (and I’m applying for some as we speak, at the college level), I’ll be pushing hard to design and implement this type of course. Networked devices are too ubiquitous these days for us not to take advantage of them, and they will never get less widespread than they are now. As much as I hesitate to predict the future, I think this is the start of something big.

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

