Cheaty Cheatidy Cheat

Ok, last cheating post for a good long while, I promise.

http://www.joannejacobs.com/2012/04/cheaters-parents-sue-school/

I really don’t know what to say to that. I mean, the kid cheated. Some consequences are life-long, even when you’re a teenager. Sometimes we end up learning from pain rather than from reward. So you end up at a lower-rank school; life could be worse – you could be in a family that doesn’t have enough money to sue people so that you can succeed.

On the other hand, I can’t help but think that there must be some way to get someone out of cheating. In my own opinion, this is a problem with the system: that we make cheating possible and desirable. But still, even with the current standard system, there must be some way to turn cheaters into non-cheaters on a more personal level.

And look: cheating from colleges themselves:

http://communitycollegespotlight.org/content/from-combat-to-college_9018/?preview=true

Schools may be using fake SVA chapters to advertise themselves as “veteran friendly”…

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s not over yet, but it currently *appears* that I’m about to get through my first semester of college instructional work (out of 10 to date) without busting someone for cheating. And I’m sure I’ve told you the story of my physics class the first year I taught high school…

    • Is that the year when we split up the papers to check online, and Katie found the one that had been cut-and-pasted from Scientific American?

      • Yup. The most galling one was the handwritten one that took the paragraphs and rearranged them in a different order.

    • I take it back. $@$@#$&! How bloody stupid do you have to be to copy another student’s takehome midterm in a class of 22 students? For that matter, how dumb do you have to be to share yours?

Leave a Reply

