Giving a Talk Today

I’m giving a talk today at MIT, at 2:00, in building 68, room 180. The topic is “Patterns of Behavior in Online Homework.” If you’re in the area and want to hear more about this “electronic education” thing, come on by.

If you know me personally and that phrasing sounds familiar, it was my PhD thesis. For those who can’t make it, a PDF of my slides are linked below.

Patterns Of Behavior in Online Homework

As someone who believes in interactive engagement teaching methods, it’s always a little painful to give a standard PowerPoint presentation with basically no activity from the audience. I really want to find a way to make that happen the next time I give this talk. It’s a real challenge when you’re trying to show off one particular piece of information. It’s easier if you’re trying to impart a skill, introduce a concept, or refine existing knowledge… which is most of what I think teaching should be. This is really underscoring for me the difference between “traditional teaching” via lecture and what you do with active engagement teaching. Traditional teaching is all about giving people pieces of information. Active engagement is about skills, concepts, and refinement.

Wish me luck at the talk!

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

