How Not To Be Principal

If you’re the assistant principal, and you’re looking to never ever become principal, here is how to accomplish that goal:

http://blog.ericgoldman.org/archives/2013/09/creating_parody.htm

The equivalent situation in the analog world would be you finding out that two kids are walking around school with masks of you, saying dumb things, and you react by calling the cops. Moreover, you react by somehow genuinely expecting the kids to be dragged away to jail.

I can understand being upset or insulted. I can understand wanting to do something. What I don’t get is how that escalated into the event that actually happened. At some point, someone involved with the affronted assistant principal should have said, “You know what, maybe this is going a little overboard.”

As a teacher, I learned that being able to laugh at myself – and to laugh at people who are making fun of me – is somewhere between mindblowingly vital and utterly essential to my job. There’s a great line from Hyde that says, “Take your job seriously, not yourself.” After seeing this, I think I’d have to add, “Any time you think someone’s belittling your job, they’re probably just not taking you seriously.”

As teachers we owe it to our students to open our lives and minds to them. We can’t afford to get defensive about ourselves.

About Colin Fredericks

By day I help to create online courses at HarvardX. By night I write roleplaying games.

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

